How I got My Wings: Part I – You may have to go on-site!!!

I am currently on-site in the US at a client site for my company. Me going on-site was totally unexpected and very sudden. I’ll post a series of blog entries sequencing how it all happened. This is Part I…

 

Some background:

I have been working where I am working for almost 3 years now. Until January 2006, I was working on projects that serve other divisions of the company – internal projects in short. I had requested my bosses to give me an opportunity to work for external clients – i.e. on external projects. My request was granted in end December and I moved over to a group serving a client in the US and started here on January 2nd – the first working day of the calendar year. The main reason for requesting this change was not because I didn’t like the work I was doing (I liked it… and I learnt a lot), but because I wanted to work on other things too and wanted an opportunity to go on-site (there is little chance of that happening when one works on internal projects).

 

You may have to go on-site!!!:

Fast-forward 3 months to March 8th. I was there at work in front of my computer, when my PM suddenly called me into his chamber, at around 10:30 in the morning. I couldn’t think of a reason for this! I rushed to his chamber clutching a book and a pen (always useful!) and sat down in front of him. And, he said, “You have an opportunity to go on-site. You have to go on-site to replace <someone> since that person has to come back due to personal reasons” (after being there for only 2 weeks). I said, “OK… what’s the project on and when should I be leaving?” His reply, “You will have to leave in a couple of days, pending an interview with the client”. I thought that was really short preparation time (though he did ask me if I would be able to leave so soon)… I couldn’t start preparing until the client thought I was good enough to come all the way to their place! He said he would send some documents about the project and asked me to go through it.

 

I said OK and went back to my place, waiting for his email containing the project details. He also gave me some hints to prepare for the client interview, which was on the very next morning IST, 9th March. I went through the project docs, which wasn’t much. I started preparing for the interview. The project work was something along the lines of what I had done in the internal projects, though this project was in a completely different field.

 

I prepared as much as I could and went home early (around 7 pm). I told my mother about it and asked her not to tell anyone else about it until it was confirmed. And, I prepared some more for the client interview.

 

Next: The Client Interview…

 

–Dileepa

