How to get Windows Live Mail to work with BonEcho (Firefox 2 Beta)

I use both IE7 B3 and Firefox 2 Beta (BonEcho) to surf the web. I used to use Firefox more than IE. Since Windows Live Mail wouldn’t work with BonEcho, I started using IE more.

Today after I downloaded the nightly build, I thought I would try something to get Windows Live Mail to work with BonEcho. It’s a pretty simple change and it worked! All I had to do was change the user agent string (this is the string that identifies what browser it is).

Here is what you have to change:

Open BonEcho

  1. Type ‘about:config’ (without quotes) into the location bar (address bar) and press enter.
  2. Type ‘firefox’ (without quotes) in the Filter field.
  3. Double-click on ‘general.useragent.extra.firefox’ Preference Name.
  4. Change ‘BonEcho’ to ‘Firefox’
  5. Close the page.

That’s it! All done. Log on to Windows Live Mail and it works like a charm 🙂

BTW, Windows Live Writer is the best new application I have seen in some time. It’s just so well done & refined for a beta product, I can’t believe that it’s a beta product!

–Dileepa

